Do you think Poets still exist?

http://www.express.co.uk/news/uk/637603/nation-poets-Briton-dont-know-Shakespeare-Keats

I am posting this article because I thought it was good food for discussion here on the blog.  They bring up that this generation of young people do not know about the old poets and is poetry dying?

I commented on the site that I think each generation has their own poets that write and speak to their generation.  For my generation our poets included the Beatles, who many of us baby boomers felt inspired by them and their songs ( musical poems ).

The current generation will have their own poets.  I think of Taylor Swift as being a poet for her generation with her musical poems.

I still love a hard book and can’t get use to reading everything on a computer screen.  That is just me.  I love the feel of the book in my hands.

We are the 21st century now.  The youth must find their own poets and poetry.  I look forward to seeing and hearing what the poets of their generation produce.

 

Leave a Reply

