Captain Jonathan Buell

407355_566298606717908_729009605_n

Captain Buell was born in Lebanon, CT on 13th Dec. 1717.

In the Buell Family History book, there is a copy of the Royal Commission Letter:

William Pitkin, Esq

Captain General in Chief, of His Majesty’s Colony of Connecticut, in New England.

To Jonathan Buell, Gent, Greeting;

You being by the General Assembly of this colony accepted to be Caption of the West Company or Train-band, in the Town of Goshen, Reposing Special Trust and confident in your LOYALITY, COURAGE, AND GOOD CONDUCT ( caps are mine), I do by virtue of the Letter Patents from the CROWN OF ENGLAND to this corporation, me thereunto enabling, appoint and empower you to take the said Train-band into your care and charge, as their Captain, carefully and diligently to discharge that trust, exercising your inferior officers and soldiers in the use of their arms, according to the discipline of war; keeping them in good order and government, and commanding them to obey as their Captain for HIS MAJESTY’S SERVICE.  And you are to observe all such orders and directions as from time to time you shall receive either from me, or from other Superior Officers, pursuant to the trust hereby reposed in you.  Given under my hand and the seal of this Colony, in New Haven, the 27th day of October, in the seventh year of the reign of Our Sovereign Lord George the Third, King of Great Britain, etc, Annoque Domini, 1766

WM. Pitkin,

By his Honor’s Command

George Wyllys, Sec.

Like the Civil War, the American Revolution had father and son on different sides.  His son Jesse is my American Revolution ancestor so I am not only a Daughter of the British Empire but a Daughter of the American Revolution.

Some of us have very old bloodlines.  I take after my grandmum who after coming to Boston the first time, couldn’t stand it, so she went back to England.  My grandfather from Scotland who met her on the ship, fell in love with this high spirited young lady and followed her.  Married her and brought her back to Boston at some point.

Some point I will make it to England.

 

 

4 Comments »

  1. 1
    chrisy58 Says:

    My comments I a going to post here and just leave the letter by itself.

    Why would Joe Kennedy be such a horrid boy to this girl? What did I do that made him hate me so much that he would act like this?

    Is it because I am Tory? Those of us who were LOYAL TO THE BRITISH KING AND CROWN WERE NOT TREATED VERY WELL.

    I don’t think I will ever know the answers to my questions as the KENNEDY’S SEEM TO BE COWARDS.

  2. 2
    chrisy58 Says:

    I needed to hear this song this morning. I know things will get better and are getting better everyday.

    Now that the denial is gone and I know that there is not one ounce of honor in the Kennedy Bloodline, I can move forward and do what I have to do for me. I don’t care about Joe or Bobby or their family name anymore, as any love I held for their family is dead. It died on Halloween when they refused to meet me in Boston to talk out our differences, with the hope of finding a way to move forward in PEACE and NOT WAR, but the Kennedy’s chose WAR.

  3. 3
    chrisy58 Says:

    Have decided once I move to Hawaii, I will let my Daughter of the American Revolution membership go, as I can’t fake love for the United States Government. I love the British Crown.

    They do have a Daughter of the British Empire there. I think I will renew my membership with them.

  4. 4
    chrisy58 Says:

    One of my favorites. Need to think about getting out of here.

    Now that the denial is gone, I can move forward, and start to heal.


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

